Back to top

Knowledge Base

A New Nuclear Strategy for 21st Century Realities

How many nations have nuclear weapons?

Currently, eight countries possess nuclear weapons: the US, Britain, France, China, Russia, Pakistan, India, and more recently, North Korea. Moreover, while it is widely believed Israel has them too, they have neither confirmed or denied the claim.

What is nuclear deterrence?

Nuclear deterrence holds that nuclear weapons are intended to deter other states from attacking with their nuclear weapons, through the promise of retaliation and possibly mutually assured destruction (MAD).

What is nuclear proliferation?

Nuclear proliferation is the spread of nuclear weapons, nuclear weapons technology, or materials to countries that do not already possess them. 

Does the spread of nuclear weapons make the world safer or more dangerous?

The spread of nuclear weapons does not make the world safer. For instance, the United States and Soviet Union had nuclear weapons, but that did not deter them from engaging in regional conflicts. Likewise, Pakistan and India also have nuclear weapons but still engaged in an armed conflict. Since renewed non-proliferation efforts are critical for the safety of the human race, a firm commitment from major world powers is required for widespread de-nuclearization to occur.